Junior Certificate

The Junior Certificate syllabus aims to cater for the entire ability range of pupils. Assessment is at two levels, Ordinary level and Higher level. Assessment at both levels is by:

  • Aural examination
  • Terminal written examination

While the syllabus is the same for both levels, the communicative tasks will be carried out through language use of varying degrees of complexity. All pupils will be expected to execute the same tasks, although Ordinary Level examination candidates may do so in a simpler way.

Exam Higher   Ordinary  
Listening 140 marks 44% 140 marks 44%
Reading 100 marks 31% 120 marks 38%
Writing 80 marks 25% 60 marks 19%
Total 320 marks 100% 320 marks 100%

Website by ITM Digital